I see.

Panamanian Independence Day Parade in Downtown LA

I just looked out my window about an hour ago because I thought I heard a marching band. Sure enough, there’s a parade going on. They must not have promoted it very well in the neighborhood, because I haven’t seen any posters or ads. But that didn’t seem to stop the thousands of people who were on scene to celebrate the Panama Parade down Broadway.

Today’s event celebrates Panama’s independence, so there were a gaggle of fun-loving central Americans prancing down a closed Broadway, with music and dancing.

I grabbed my canon and my trusty 70-200 f/4 and ran down. Here are some of my favorite images from the parade 🙂

11 responses

  1. Patricia V. Feil

    Nothing for Copa Airlines?

    November 9, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    • justinsullivan

      What about copa airlines?

      November 10, 2009 at 6:39 pm

  2. Kimberly Kamish

    Awesome pictures. I am Miss Belize California. I was the one sitting in the convertible wearing a white blouse. Great pictures, i am going to share them on my website!

    November 10, 2009 at 7:35 pm

  3. annette

    Thanks for capturing such an important event , I fowarded to all my friends

    November 11, 2009 at 5:04 am

  4. Hey hi great pictures- i never knew there was a Panamanian Parade,you learn something new everyday.

    Btw- I found your blog via a comment you left over at blogdowntown.

    -thanks for sharing:)

    November 14, 2009 at 12:19 am

  5. PanaSanDiego

    Hello from San Diego!

    Thanks for sharing your photos, I could not make it to the parade this year but “mi tia” from Texas forward this link to me. How beautiful!! I Love the Panamanian culture…

    November 18, 2009 at 12:28 am

  6. eddie johnson

    im a band member for los angeles&san diego band,great job man,this articule make me feel so good,to know that the hard work that we put in to that event was well worth it thank you. hope to see u next year, its going to be biger & bether,bands from new york & direct from panama will be there, i hope you will be there…. thank you

    November 19, 2009 at 7:37 am

  7. Fernando Thomas

    Great pictures, it takes me home at the conviniences of my livingroom

    November 24, 2009 at 5:15 pm

  8. IT MAKES ME PROUD TO SEE US GROW MORE IN LOVE WITH OUR COUNTRY IN SPITE OF THE PROBLEMS OUR PEOPLE ENCOUNTER DAILY. WE CAN ONLY LOVE PANAMA. IT IS THE BASE THAT GOT US THIS FAR. WE OWE IT TO OUR CHILDREN AND FUTURE GENERATIONS TO GIVE THEM A SENSE OF PRIDE WHILE HONORING OUR FOREFATHERS, VIVA MI PATRIA. AMOR SIEMPRE. LA COLONENSA
    P.S. GRACIAS POR COMPARTIR TUS FOTOS.

    December 6, 2009 at 1:40 am

  9. Ana Reefer

    Even though I am here in Panama I never get a chance to see the parade since I work on Holidays. I work at a call center and the holidays here in panama is not given to us. I will love to get more pictures and comments on the parade. I pray that the day I retired I can enjoy watching the parade with my Love ones, meanwhile keep it going.

    December 15, 2009 at 11:51 pm

  10. I want to make sure that you know the parade will be downtown LA, same location Olympic and Broadway on November 13th, 2010. Saturday 9:30 am.
    Thanks for posting these pictures and hope that you can make it again this year… (These are AWESOME) Y Que Viva Panama!

    October 30, 2010 at 2:30 am

Leave a Reply

